Outreachy Blog Post 1: Introduce Yourself

Outreachy Blog Post 1: Introduce Yourself

About Me

Hey there! I'm Omokaro Loveth, a recent graduate with B.Eng in Production engineering and an Outreachy intern. I'm also a Frontend developer with plans on becoming a Software engineer.

I love reading novels, especially Chinese-translated ones with genres and tags ranging from yaoi, unlimited flow, apocalypse, historical, wuxia, xianxia and my favorite, transmigration. I enjoy reading transmigration novels because I've always been curious about time travel and a parallel universe. Most people feel it's unlikely that they exist, but I've always wondered about the slight possibility that they might.

It's not as if I have a scientific theory about them, but I've always imagined that let's say, situations where we have to make significant decisions concerning our lives or other things, and we have to pick from a yes or no. If, at that point, our perspective splits into two, where the first you picked yes while the second you picked no. This topic has always been fascinating to me, and by the way, I believe in reincarnation, but that would be a topic for another day😅

A visual representation of a parallel universe, at least to me🤷‍♀️

depositphotos_139502344-stock-photo-two-worlds-collide.jpg

Apart from reading novels, I love listening to music in genres like RnB, Pop, country, and hip-hop. My favorite artists are Billie Eilish, Melanie Martinez, Conan Grey and Sub Urban. My most played song right now is Unholy by Sam Smith. It just gets to me🥰.

My Core Values

Determination

This is something that most describes me. I'm very determined when I decide anything. For example, I have applied to Outreachy 2 times before this, and I've always passed the essay round. The thing is, I was never serious about making contributions because I had school to juggle with the program. But immediately, I received a mail about the start of this Dec-March round, and I told myself and a friend that I would get in. I was determined to work hard and get in, which I did💃. I made sure I was active in the community, set up the codebase on my local pc and made meaningful contributions to issues I knew could be fixed with my skills. And that is one of the things I love about myself. I could play around and be jovial, but when it comes to solving problems, I'm always ready to push through. Being a determined individual always gives me an edge when solving problems because I would never give up easily until I find a solution.

Happiness

I love being happy ☺. My daily motto has always been: Success is not the key to happiness. Happiness is the key to success. – Herman Cain, I love being among people that are happy and cheerful. It's usually infectious. Finding happiness in little things matters a lot, so I try to appreciate everybody that matters to me. There are so many problems that are tied to being an adult, especially an adult in Nigeria. But regardless of that, I always find ways to be happy and to make other people around me happy.

Being happy has a lot of benefits, such as looking younger, exuding positivity, looking approachable, and many more. If anything is bothering me that I know I can't solve at that moment, I try to forget about it because there is no use bothering myself when I can't do anything. And if it's something I can solve, I do it because life is too short to waste on irrelevant things.

Always try your best to smile and be happy because it always yields positive results!

My motivation for applying to Outreachy

Open-source! Open-source! Open-source!

I kept hearing all about it in most of the tech programs I attended some time ago. There was one where Samson Goddy was a speaker, he spoke about open-source and its benefits. I got interested so I decided to find out more about it and make some contributions with my then meager skills.

During my research, I found out about Outreachy. Outreachy provides three-month internships to work in Free and Open Source Software (FOSS). Outreachy internship projects may include programming, user experience, documentation, illustration and graphical design, or data science. Interns often find employment after their internship with Outreachy sponsors or in jobs that use the skills they learned during their internship.

It was an excellent place to start my open-source journey with different communities requiring different skills and skill levels. So I applied for that round. Answering the essay questions was difficult, but I knew I had to do it😅 I was surprised when I passed the initial application phase, but I couldn't pass the contribution phase. I applied two times again till I was finally selected as an intern for Wagtail 💃🥰

Wagtail is an awesome free and open source content management system (CMS) written in Python. It is popular amongst websites using the Django framework. The project is maintained by a team of open-source contributors backed by companies around the world. The community is very friendly and welcoming to everybody. I would advise You to start your open-source journey with them and I assure you, you'll enjoy it!

I learned a lot during the contribution phase, such as testing with Jest, Typescript, and GitHub and how to communicate with other contributors effectively. These skills will be an added advantage to my career.

Outreachy is the best place to start your open-source journey! Thanks for staying and reading till the end. Please watch out for my other posts🥰😍🥰😍